House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

The House of Silk Audiobook

House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz and read by Derek Jacobi was an Audible read for me.  Like all Sherlock Holmes novel, this is most definitely a mystery novel.

 

Book wasn’t bad but at the same time, it bored me to tears.  Even the great Derek Jacobi failed to keep my interest for any length of time.  I easily spread the listen of this book out over a several weeks as I’ve been sorting and packing the house.  The story isn’t poorly written, or poorly performed.  It is just incredibly dry and ponders along like a snail crossing the yard.  More than once I was tempted to just fast forward to the end and get it over with, which is something I’ve never wanted to do before.

For me, Sherlock and Watson are characters I enjoy on PBS but need to remember to avoid in written format.  I was bored.  It was a long listen for me.  If you like the written version of Sherlock and Watson then you may very well enjoy this listen.

Three stars out of five for being decently written and performed.  I can’t recommend it however because it couldn’t keep my attention.

Leave a Reply

