Day 22: Most Relatable Characters

Day Two of the Christmas plague so willingly shared by my father and husband, so please forgive me if I ramble a wee bit.  This list could be much longer but I’m forcing myself to limit it to five characters, in no particular order.

 

9780451209481_p0_v1_s192x300  Lacey Smithsonian novels are so enjoyable that I forget they are set in Washington, D.C.  I love the vintage fashion in the series and Lacey’s unique ability to stumble onto a crime.  Her friends are funny, her boss is overworked, and her love life is always a challenge.  A great way to lose yourself for a couple of truly enjoyable hours.

 

9780451415462_p0_v3_s192x300  Minnie Hamilton is an amazing character I fell in love with by the second page.  Everything about Minnie was relatable and enjoyable for me, from her short stature to her determination to defy her boss to do what she thought was right by the readers of her community.  Minnie is a character I shall return to in the coming months, it would be today if I could concentrate for any length of time.

 

9781940976693_p0_v2_s192x300  Ivy Meadows turned out to be one of my favorite new characters this year.  She may be half my age (wow, typing that makes me feel old!) but she isn’t the typical vacuous heroine of her age bracket.  She has a delicious sense of humor and an appreciation for the wisdom of her elders. 

 

9781476767499_p0_v3_s192x300  Lucy Binger (why I had Lucy Stone in my head I don’t know, I’ve gone back and corrected earlier posts) is a hoot.  Her delightful knitting projects for her nieces she always finishes in the knick of time, her dog and vet boyfriend, and her sense of humor are what draws me back to the series time and time again. 

9780451415288_p0_v3_s192x300  Nora Blackbird and her sisters are amusing and delightful.  I love how Nora makes “do” with the vintage clothes she inherited from her family.  I love that she has a style and flair all her own and stands out for being tastefully dressed while solving those inconvenient murders that keep cropping up.

Ok, that’s it.  I’m retiring to the sofa and hoping I’m more coherent tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

