Day 15: Lest favorite book of 2015

Wolf Hall Cover.jpeg

This was the easiest choice for me for the 31 Days series.  I absolutely hated this book.  I hated the wording, the narrative, the character studies, and the overall “feel”. 

I love historical novels and I am an avid reader of English history.  This book however could kill historical fiction genre single hand in my opinion.  Characters are stiff and rigid, more like cardboard caricatures than actual humans that helped shaped the world as we know it today.  I tried the Audible version of the book and the digital version, neither version was readable. 

The book is so bad, I will never pick up another one written by Hilary Mantel.  I know all the critics loved the book but I just do not understand why.  I am also completely baffled as to why the BBC turned it into a mini-series (which I found uncomfortable and unwatchable).  I could go on and on but I don’t feel like wasting any more time or energy on the drivel that is this “book”.

Leave a Reply

