Murder at Redwood Cove by Janet Finsilver

cover71047-medium

 

Murder at Redwood Cove by Janet Finsilver was a Net Galley read and will by published by Kensington Books on October 13, 2015.  The towering pines and the dog on the cover sold me on the book, I’m a sucker for books featuring dogs what can I say?

Set in the mythical town of Redwood Cove our protagonist, Kelly Jackson, is sent to cover for the manager of the Redwood Cove Bed & Breakfast when the former manager dies.  In an easy to read cozy mystery a variety of characters pass through the halls of the B&B, including Fred that adorable dog on the cover.  I’ll be the first too admit I didn’t actually enjoy the character of Kelly.  Something about her is off for for me, might be the way she’s always counting calories.  Other characters in the book are great, the band of Silver Sentinels, the suppliers who seem to freely roam the B&B, and the employees and their families.

This is the first in a new series and I can easily picture the setting suffering from “Jessica Fletcher Syndrome”.  There are only so many murders and murderers that can exist in a small town before the setting becomes unbelievable.  A B&B offers up new possibilities and new characters but that can only work for so long before it becomes formulaic and predictable.

Four stars out of five, up from my initial gut reaction of three and a half stars for surprising me with the actual culprits.  It is rare I don’t correctly guess the ending but this time I was completely wrong. 

Leave a Reply

