Second to Nun by Alice Loweecey

image

Second to Nun by Alice Loweecey is another novel from NetGalley and releases on September 22, 2015.  It is written by a former nun and features a former nun as the main protagonist.  It is the second in the series, the first I haven’t read but has been on my radar for a while now.  It falls in the category of a cozy mystery.

Unfortunately, I didn’t finish the book.  To be honest it suffered from two major problems which resulted in being unable to keep my attention for any length of time.  First problem, the reader is immediately tossed into the lives of the protagonist and her close circle without any introduction of said characters for the new reader.  I was immediately lost and didn’t care about any of them.  Second, there were far too many pop culture references for my taste.  Reliance on pop culture references limits the books audience and longevity.

I didn’t finish the book,  rather I decide to move on to other authors and books that could hold my attention and didn’t irritate me.  One star out of five for laziness and boring me.

*Written on my phone, please excuse any typos.

** Editing complete

Leave a Reply

